kate stopped warning about changed files (but only C++ files)
mail at svenbrauch.de
Sat Feb 22 12:51:39 GMT 2020
On Saturday, 22 February 2020 12:48:57 CET Albert Astals Cid wrote:
> > > Wow, is there a way I can disable this trying-to-be-smart behaviour?
> > Currently only by building without libgit2 it seems.
> > In what case do you find this behaviour undesirable?
The original reason for adding this behaviour was that opening 25 files and
then switching branches without changing any of them gives you lots of useless
warnings. This problem is neatly solved by the current behaviour.
> Or to rephrase, why does it matter whether the file is in git or not to tell
> me that some changes i had made will be lost?
I'm not sure if you have fully understood what the feature does. In no case
will changes you made be lost. Kate checks if *the exact contents of the file
before reload* are stored in version control and only reloads in that case.
So, if you e.g. make changes without committing them and then run "git reset
--hard", kate *will* ask you before reloading the file. If you make no changes
and switch branches, it will not. If you make changes, commit them and then
switch branches, it will also not ask.
More information about the KWrite-Devel