lost *all* settings; and more!
jrtyrer at earthlink.net
Sun Dec 13 09:44:07 GMT 2009
> Zorael <zorael at gmail.com> dixit:
>> The user *is* asked whether to move all files to the new directory,
>> so in a sense it's only done as told. But I'd argue there should be
>> a check to see if the entire home is being moved, as that would
>> undo the setting to begin with and bork the user completely.
> Obviously, that's what happened to me. It's at least a _very_ strange
> decision. Now, what happens to previous settings and app data? When I
> moved back all the stuff to my home dir, lost setting, & data weren't
Probably a bit late to tell you this, but for future reference, you
can't restore stuff to the $HOME/.kde4 directory for a user while that
user is running. It will screw things up. You need to close that user
session and open a KDE session as root and do it there making sure that
you have ownership of the moved files set correctly.
Linux (mostly) From Scratch
This message is from the kde mailing list.
Account management: https://mail.kde.org/mailman/listinfo/kde.
More info: http://www.kde.org/faq.html.
More information about the kde