Review Request: Add a confirmation window when emptying the trash
kloecker at kde.org
Tue Mar 30 19:10:52 BST 2010
On Tuesday 30 March 2010, Will Stephenson wrote:
> > On 2010-03-29 14:55:47, Tom Albers wrote:
> > > Why is this needed? It is emptying the trash, so the user deleted
> > > the stuff first already. I see no need for another confirmation
> > > and another dialog. It is already a 2 step action to delete
> > > something permanently.
> > Nicolas Lécureuil wrote:
> > This is a security, because emptying a trash is not an actions
> > w/o consequences and the user can have asked to not beeing
> > warned when deleting files. We use an "Don't ask me again"
> > option so the window isn't shown anymore if this annoy the
> > user.
> > I think this is a usuability improvement.
> > On kiorc we have :
> > [Confirmations]
> > ConfirmDelete=true
> > ConfirmTrash=true
> > One to ask or not when deleting files and one to ask or not
> > when emptying the trash.
> I agree with Tom, this is bloat. By default it is a 3 step action to
> permanently delete a file via the trash can. 1) invoke Move to Trash
> 2) Confirm moving to Trash
> 3) Empty Trash
> You are adding 4) Confirm Empty Trash, because the user might have
> already disabled 2). This makes the default path to permanently
> delete something a 4 step process which is excessively cautious.
I don't understand Tom's and your problem. Experienced users will use
Shift+Delete (which means permanent deletion is a two step operation). I
always use Shift+Delete. I never use Trash. But neither me nor you are
Also, if the confirmation dialog has a "Don't ask this stupid question
again" check box then everybody who thinks the extra confirmation is
nonsense will disable it and be fine. So, what exactly is your point?
-------------- next part --------------
A non-text attachment was scrubbed...
Size: 198 bytes
Desc: This is a digitally signed message part.
More information about the kde-core-devel