Review Request: Add a confirmation window when emptying the trash

Will Stephenson wstephenson at kde.org
Tue Mar 30 11:14:20 BST 2010



> On 2010-03-29 14:55:47, Tom Albers wrote:
> > Why is this needed? It is emptying the trash, so the user deleted the stuff first already. I see no need for another confirmation and another dialog. It is already a 2 step action to delete something permanently.
> 
> Nicolas L├ęcureuil wrote:
>     This is a security, because emptying a trash is not an actions w/o consequences and the user can have asked to not beeing warned when deleting files. We use an "Don't ask me again" option so the window isn't shown anymore if this annoy the user. 
>     
>     I think this is a usuability improvement.
>     
>     On kiorc we have : 
>     
>     [Confirmations]
>     ConfirmDelete=true
>     ConfirmTrash=true
>     
>     One to ask or not when deleting files and one to ask or not when emptying the trash.

I agree with Tom, this is bloat.  By default it is a 3 step action to permanently delete a file via the trash can. 
1) invoke Move to Trash action
2) Confirm moving to Trash
3) Empty Trash

You are adding 4) Confirm Empty Trash, because the user might have already disabled 2).  This makes the default path to permanently delete something a 4 step process which is excessively cautious.

If the user checks "Don't ask me again" on 4), then we are back to a 2 step process again, and your next patch adds 5) Confirm Confirm Empty Trash - this can go on forever.

If you consider the Delete action as well, this remains a 2 step action to permanently delete
1a) File->Delete
2a) Confirm deletion

So considering that the user might configure Delete instead of Trash in Dolphin, and might disable 2a), your patch still does not add any additional safety, at the cost of making the default configuration excessively cautious.


- Will


-----------------------------------------------------------
This is an automatically generated e-mail. To reply, visit:
http://reviewboard.kde.org/r/3434/#review4736
-----------------------------------------------------------


On 2010-03-29 21:55:14, Nicolas L├ęcureuil wrote:
> 
> -----------------------------------------------------------
> This is an automatically generated e-mail. To reply, visit:
> http://reviewboard.kde.org/r/3434/
> -----------------------------------------------------------
> 
> (Updated 2010-03-29 21:55:14)
> 
> 
> Review request for kdelibs and David Faure.
> 
> 
> Summary
> -------
> 
> When the user empty the trash ( when using trash:/ in a desktop file ) there is no confirmation window.
> This patch add a confirmation window.
> 
> 
> Diffs
> -----
> 
>   /trunk/KDE/kdelibs/kio/kio/jobuidelegate.cpp 1108647 
>   /trunk/KDE/kdelibs/kio/kio/jobuidelegate.h 1108647 
>   /trunk/KDE/kdebase/apps/lib/konq/konq_operations.cpp 1108647 
> 
> Diff: http://reviewboard.kde.org/r/3434/diff
> 
> 
> Testing
> -------
> 
> 
> Thanks,
> 
> Nicolas
> 
>





More information about the kde-core-devel mailing list