Netherlands Antilles country flags and names in KDE

Hans Linkels jlinkels at
Sat Apr 16 20:32:59 BST 2011


Since 2010-10-10 the country Netherlands Antilles doesn't exist anymore. 
Instead it became two countries (Curacao and St Martin) and a couple of 
Dutch municipalities which belong to the Netherlands but have their own 
ccTLD (.BQ). Nevertheless they all have there own flag.

So, the country doesn't exist anymore and instead 5 new flags have been 
added. I am sure that the existing country Aruba and the two new 
countries should be indicated with their own flag and country name. I am 
less sure about the 3 new Dutch municipalities: Bonaire, St. Eustatius 
and Saba. Altough the share a common name (BES islands) this is not 
internationally known, and they don't share a common flag. My suggestion 
would be to assign a separate country name and flag to each of them. 
This best reflects the current situation and the sentiment of the 

Below the links with the official announcement of the dissolution of the 
old country. I found a major news site, the Wiki and the official 
announcement by the Dutch government, but unfortunately that is in 
Dutch. If I have to supply more references, please state.

These are the new flags:
Aruba: (not new)
St. Eustatius:
St. Maarten:

Time zone remained GMT-4
For Bonaire, Saba and St. Eustatius the currency has become US Dollar.

Is there anymore more I can do to help you list these countries in 
future KDE releases? If you have any more questions, please ask.


More information about the kde-core-devel mailing list