Review Request: Add a confirmation window when emptying the trash

Nicolas L├ęcureuil nlecureuil at mandriva.com
Mon Mar 29 17:40:06 BST 2010



> On 2010-03-29 14:55:47, Tom Albers wrote:
> > Why is this needed? It is emptying the trash, so the user deleted the stuff first already. I see no need for another confirmation and another dialog. It is already a 2 step action to delete something permanently.

This is a security, because emptying a trash is not an actions w/o consequences and the user can have asked to not beeing warned when deleting files. We use an "Don't ask me again" option so the window isn't shown anymore if this annoy the user. 

I think this is a usuability improvement.

On kiorc we have : 

[Confirmations]
ConfirmDelete=true
ConfirmTrash=true

One to ask or not when deleting files and one to ask or not when emptying the trash.


- Nicolas


-----------------------------------------------------------
This is an automatically generated e-mail. To reply, visit:
http://reviewboard.kde.org/r/3434/#review4736
-----------------------------------------------------------


On 2010-03-29 14:46:16, Nicolas L├ęcureuil wrote:
> 
> -----------------------------------------------------------
> This is an automatically generated e-mail. To reply, visit:
> http://reviewboard.kde.org/r/3434/
> -----------------------------------------------------------
> 
> (Updated 2010-03-29 14:46:16)
> 
> 
> Review request for kdelibs and David Faure.
> 
> 
> Summary
> -------
> 
> When the user empty the trash ( when using trash:/ in a desktop file ) there is no confirmation window.
> This patch add a confirmation window.
> 
> 
> Diffs
> -----
> 
>   /trunk/KDE/kdebase/apps/lib/konq/konq_operations.cpp 1108647 
>   /trunk/KDE/kdelibs/kio/kio/jobuidelegate.h 1108647 
>   /trunk/KDE/kdelibs/kio/kio/jobuidelegate.cpp 1108647 
> 
> Diff: http://reviewboard.kde.org/r/3434/diff
> 
> 
> Testing
> -------
> 
> 
> Thanks,
> 
> Nicolas
> 
>





More information about the kde-core-devel mailing list