Review Request: Add a confirmation window when emptying the trash
toma at kde.org
Tue Mar 30 11:22:26 BST 2010
Op Tuesday 30 March 2010 12:14 schreef u:
> I agree with Tom, this is bloat. By default it is a 3 step action to
> permanently delete a file via the trash can.
> 1) invoke Move to Trash action
> 2) Confirm moving to Trash
> 3) Empty Trash
> You are adding 4) Confirm Empty Trash, because the user might have already
> disabled 2). This makes the default path to permanently delete something a 4
> step process which is excessively cautious.
> If the user checks "Don't ask me again" on 4), then we are back to a 2 step
> process again, and your next patch adds 5) Confirm Confirm Empty Trash - this
> can go on forever.
> If you consider the Delete action as well, this remains a 2 step action to
> permanently delete
> 1a) File->Delete
> 2a) Confirm deletion
> So considering that the user might configure Delete instead of Trash in Dolphin
> and might disable 2a), your patch still does not add any additional safety, at
> the cost of making the default configuration excessively cautious.
> - Will
More information about the kde-core-devel